Finally finished book #TWO

I just have to pat myself on the back for just finishing my second novel. It’s part of my promise to myself that I will enjoy every step of this journey that I’m on. As some of you may remember, I attended my first writer’s conference last week. One of the writers, Barry Lyga commented that he wished he’d taken more time to enjoy some of the smaller successes along the way to become a bestselling author. In other words, he wished he’d enjoyed the process more. Of course, I realize that’s kind of hard to do when you don’t know if or when you’re going to reach the goal you’ve set for yourself. In other words, if I knew for certain today that I was going to hit the bestseller lists exactly on Sept 15, 2014, then I can really let loose with the enjoyment now. But the truth is, as humans we really don’t know when/if we’re going to hit that major goal or milestone, so we fret and worry in the meantime. But I’m going to buck that trend. I’m going to try and enjoy everything along the way, starting with just appreciating the fact that I’ve finished my second book. Yeah, I did it! It took me four years to complete my first novel, Fathers House. And now I’ve completed my second one in a little more than seven months. That’s two novels in five years! I’m really cooking with grease now. And I’m ecstatic! As I go thru the process of finding the appropriate publisher, I’m not going to rush the process, I’m going to relish these moments. And I encourage everyone, no matter what your goals are, please take time to relish the process and journey that you’re on.

Leave a Reply

