Cousin Charlie

In today’s blog I want to pay tribute to a man that was special to me. This man was not my father. He wasn’t my school teacher, or sports coach. We didn’t share a lot of conversations  together or spend that much time together. But cousin Charlie taught me one skill that has served me well in my life. It’s a single skill, though you’d be surprised at how many people don’t know how to do it. I love my father, and I loved my step-father; but my father has never learned to do it and my stepfather went to his grave without knowing how. I have two boys and I plan to teach them both. In fact, I don’t know why I haven’t taught my nine year old yet. As soon as I finish this post, I’m going to. It’s a very useful skill and he needs to know it. I regret I never told cousin Charlie how much I appreciated him teaching me. Sadly he died a a couple of years ago. I will tell his daughter when I see her. We went to high school together and I doubt she knows that the skill her father taught me has served me so well in my personal and professional career. Even though you’re not here to hear me Cousin Charlie, I want to thank you for teaching me how to tie a tie!

Leave a Reply

