Embracing family

I don’t know if you’re familiar with the movie Horrible Bosses. (a funny movie by the way). There’s a scene at the beginning of the movie where one of the main characters stated his childhood dream was to be a husband, not a fireman or policeman, but a husband. I laughed when I heard that. But probably not for the same reason the people in the theater were laughing. I laughed because that was actually very similar to my dream. It’s true that I also dreamed about being a professional athlete or a fireman. But I also dreamed that I had a wife and kids to share my life with. After scoring the winning basket or touchdown, I’d go home to the wife and kids. I also dreamed about putting out a major fire and saving a couple of lives, and then going home to the wife and kids. I’m very blessed that I’ve got a beautiful wife and two handsome sons. My family is a dream-achievement.  And they’re also the motivation that pushes me toward my other dreams and goals. My family was the inspiration behind me finishing my debut novel, and they provide me the motivation to write every day in order to finish my second one. I love them and I thank God for blessing me with them. So, in short, I guess what I’m trying to say is while pursuit of goals and dreams are good, take the time to smell the roses and enjoy what you’ve already accomplished.

Leave a Reply

